Sunshine and Super Bowl

Hey all, sorry it took me so long to put this up.  I was indisposed almost all of yesterday, then slept too long and had to work today.  However, I bring you two things which should definitely make up for my lackadaisicalness (“-ness” just doesn’t seem to fit on the end of that word…I think I may opt for “lackadaisicality” from now on, hehe).

Firstly, thank you SO much for my Sunshine Awards, Jingle, Artiste, and Isha.  I am a very new poet to your ranks, but you three have reached out to me anyway, the selfless implications of which are not lost on me at all.  Many thousand gratitudes to you three for making me feel so honored.

I wear it with pride and a smile :)

I wear it with pride and a smile 🙂

The Rules to Accept the Award were given to me as follows:

  • Put the logo on your blog in your post.
  • Pass the award onto 12 bloggers.
  • Link the nominees within your post.
  • Let the nominees know they have received this award by commenting on their blogs.
  • Share the love and link to the person from whom you received this award.

I have done this, but I will also go a little farther in an effort to reward those who have awarded me.

In my appreciation of you three, I have composed my first Haiku ever especially for you.  I’ll give you a link on your pages, but I want it to be here, so that others may see what you inspire.  I hope it brings you as many smiles as you have brought me on these cold, dreary, wet days. 🙂

~

Sunshine provides the light by

which all burnt ground might

obtain renewed life within.

~

As for my end of the deal, here are those that I nominate in return.  I know it may seem like cheating to nominate the three who nominated me, but I consider them noteworthy without pause, as they are not only the dear recipients of, but the inspiration for, my lyrical gift.  Jingle, Isha, Michele, I love you all.

As for the other choices, I will choose those who have commented and built me up, in order to build them up.  I know many if not all of my picks will already have this award, but I hope it still means just as much coming from me.  Just as a side note, I don’t expect anyone to go through and find 12 more people…if you can, it’s good for you, but I just want you to know I’m thinking about how you’ve helped me. 🙂

I hope you all enjoy your sunshine!

Now, for the second bit, a humorous offering.  I’m not sure how many of you cared to see the Super Bowl, yesterday, but I was privy to it in the company of my family, and it was probably the best one I’ve seen in a few years.  It doesn’t hurt that my team won, mind you, but there were two main parts that my brother and I agreed we just HAD to blog about.

His post is at this link, and I give you my professional artistic rendition of the second play that made that game, where Manning threw the ball straight into Porter’s God-blessed waiting hands.  He promptly runs downfield to face a cadre of Colts waiting in ambush until he…:ahem:…INCINERATES THEM in a flash of divine energy and continues to stride, nonchalantly I might add, into the end zone.

I call it, "Lazerbeams."  Enjoy.

I call it, "Lazerbeams." Enjoy.

I hope you all have a wonderful week, and I’ll talk to you soon 🙂

The “Good” Doctor

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://drj3kyll.wordpress.com/2010/02/08/sunshine-and-super-bowl/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. awww… i am so touched… thanks… 🙂 i liem the way you interpreted sunshine… renewed light indeed! 🙂 unbelievable that this is your first haiku, since you write like you’ve written plenty before… 🙂

    • I am glad you liked it! Haiku is something I’ll have to get used to…it’s never been my cup of tea because it’s so short that I never know if I’m making the fullest of impacts with it. I’ll try it more, though, since you liked that one 🙂

      /hugs
      The “Good” Doctor

  2. Thanks! I think I have some work to do :p

    • We all have work to do, Beth. If we didn’t, we wouldn’t be here, and then we wouldn’t be able to bring sunshine to each other.

      The perfect life is a dark one, indeed. Thank you for being imperfect with me 🙂

      /hugs
      The “Good” Doctor

  3. Doc,
    It definitely mean much, much to me. Since I just got the award this weekend, I’m not going to try and come up with 12 more to nominate. But I thank you and look forward to more mutual encouragement, poetry, and general “blah-blah” 😉

    • Oh, of course. I really didn’t expect anyone to go through all that, so I tried to absolve them of it with the assumption that they’d already gotten it. I should have been clearer, though, so I will be next time.

      You mean much, much to me, too, Yousei 🙂 I’m glad you still enjoy our conversation, even when life gets in the way of its consistency.

      /hugs
      The “Good” Doctor

  4. […] This tactic was so unorthodox and shocking, it seemed to have really destroyed the confidence of the Colts. After this, Manning botched throw after throw, culminating in a disastrous interception, which you can read all about here:https://drj3kyll.wordpress.com/2010/02/08/sunshine-and-super-bowl/ […]

  5. Loved the beautiful or insightful Haiku,
    rich and witty..

    I appreciate your kindness.
    Lovely award in your blog,
    take care, 😉

    • Thank you Jingle. I assure you, the kindness is well-deserved. 🙂

      /hugs
      G-Doc

  6. Thank you and congratulations on your own nomination.
    Gerardine Baugh

    • It’s my pleasure, Gerardine. Thank you for stopping by 🙂

      /hugs
      G-Doc

  7. i subscribed to your blog, so i’d know if you post something new… 🙂 looking forward to reading more of your poetry and stuff. 🙂

    • I am overjoyed! Thank you for continuing to support me, Isha. I’m trying to get to the point where I can do as well with the getting around, commenting, and encouraging as some of you guys are. 🙂 See you again soon 😀

      /hugs
      G-Doc

  8. […] 12th sunshine from The “Good” Doctor, high intelligence, smart poems and uplifting notes. https://drj3kyll.wordpress.com/2010/02/08/sunshine-and-super-bowl/ […]

  9. Congratulations on this
    nice blog

    • Thank you very much, Corve 🙂 Don’t be shy, stop by and pull a seat up; put your feet up and have a listen, for it is my mission to fill the soul, no holes allowed here!

      Excuse me…I’ve gotta go write that down now XD

      /hugs
      The “Good” Doctor


Leave a Reply

